How to fight a Speeding Ticket In Maryland?
A person may not operate a vehicle at a speed that, with regard to the
actual and potential dangers existing, is more than that which is
reasonable and prudent under the conditions. Tran. §21-801(a)
There is no worse feeling. You are driving down the road, your mind on
your destination, when suddenly the red and blue lights start to flash
behind you. The police are pulling you over for speeding. Not only is
a traffic ticket stop an inconvenient detour from your trip, a ticket
can be expensive and can raise your insurance premiums. In Maryland,
speeding tickets will add points to your license. If you accrue too
many points, your license will be suspended. Because of all these
drawbacks, if you get a speeding ticket, you might want to know how to
fight a speeding ticket.
Every state has its own traffic laws, and Maryland is no exception.
The law sets speed limits at 30 miles per hour for undivided highways
in business and residential areas. The speed limit is 35 miles per
hour on divided highways in a residential area. In all other
locations, people can drive 50 miles per hour on undivided highways
and 55 miles per hour on divided highways. Interstate highways or
expressways cannot have a speed limit over 65 miles per hour.
If you violate these speed limits in Maryland, in addition to paying
the fine and dealing with your insurance company’s raised premiums,
you are subject to Maryland’s unique points system. If you drive
between 1 and 9 miles over the speed limit, you get 1 point added to
your license. You get 2 points for driving between 10 and 19 miles
over the limit. If you drive 20 or more miles over the limit, you earn
5 points on your license. Reckless driving gets you 6 points. If you
rack up too many points within the span of two years, there are
serious consequences. If you get between 8 and 11 points in two years,
your license will be suspended. If you get 12 or more points in two
years, then your license will be revoked.
These are all reasons to fight a speeding ticket. But you must be
wondering how to fight a speeding ticket. First of all, do not pay the
ticket fight it. When you will receive a court date It is imperative
that you show up at court on your appointed date. If the police
officer who ticketed you is not in court, your case will likely be
dismissed. If the officer is there, you will be asked to plead. Plead
guilty with an explanation and let the judge know why you broke
speeding laws. If the judge thinks your explanation was reasonable, he
or she will put you on probation. If you do not have a traffic ticket
for six months, your speeding ticket will be off your record. This is
just one example of how to fight a speeding ticket there are many more
Fighting a ticket requires some of your time. However, if you want to
avoid paying a fine, insurance premium hikes, and points on your
license, you should fight it. The peace of mind a winning judgement
will give you is worth the effort.
In Maryland you can take Defensive Driving to reduce the points on your record.
Maryland Speeding Ticket Fine Amount ($ Range): Not more than $500.
Maryland Point System:
If a person accumulates 8 points (16 points if the offender is
required to drive in the course of employment) or 12 points (19 points
if the offender is required to drive in the course of employment)
within 2 years, he/she is subject respectively to either a license
suspension or revocation. Tran. §§16-404(a)(3) & 16-405(b).
An initial suspension is from 2 to 30 days; a subsequent suspension
is from 15 to 90 days. A person who has had his/her license revoked is
subject to the following revocation periods: 6 months if it is the
offender’s first revocation; 1 year if it is the offender’s second
revocation; 18 months if it is the offender’s third revocation; and, 2
years of it is the offender’s fourth or subsequent revocation. Tran.
§§16-208(b) & 16-404(c)(1). Note: For persons <18 years old,
suspension is for 6 months if they accumulate 6 points and is for 1
year if they accumulate 2 additional points. Tran. §16-206(b).
These suspensions may be modified (i.e., they are not mandatory).
Tran. §16-206(c)(5). The following points are assessed for speeding
offenses and speed related law violations:
Speeding ³ 10 MPH over the posted speed limit-2 points; aggressive
driving-5 points; reckless driving-6 points; speeding ³ 30 MPH over
the posted speed limit-5 points; participating in a race or speed
contest on a highway-5 points; and exceeding the 65 MPH posted speed
limit by ³ 20 MPH-5 points. Tran. §16-402(a)
Provisional Licensee: A person who holds a provisional license is
subject to the following sanctions, which are in addition to any other
sanctions for a conviction of a moving violation that requires the
assessment of points. 1st offense-the offender is required to attend a
“driver improvement program;” 2nd violation-An offender’s license may
be suspended for not more than 30 days; and, 3rd or subsequent
violation-An offender’s license may be suspended for not more than 180
days. Tran. §16-213(c). Note: A provisional license is generally
issued to persons who are less than 18 years old. Except for
activities related to employment, education or athletic events, a
provisional licensee can only operate a motor vehicle while
“unsupervised” between the hours of 5 A.M. to midnight. Tran.
§§16-103(c) & 16-113(d)
Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) Operators
Grounds for Disqualification :
A person is disqualified from operating a CMV if while driving such a
vehicle he/she either (1) commits 2 “serious traffic violations” 10
within a 3 – year period or (2) commits 3 such violations within a 3 -
year period. Tran. §16-812(f) & (g)
Period of Disqualification : 2 serious violations (within 3 years)-60
days. 3 serious violations (within 3 years)-120 days. Tran. §16-812(f)
Period of Mandatory Disqualification : 2 serious violations (within 3
years)-60 days. 3 serious violations (within 3 years)-120 days. Tran.
§16-812(f) & (g)